Djihad

Performing Arts

DATE : 02/11/2016 - 19h00 / 7:00 pm

LOCATION : Cinquième Salle, Place Des Arts - 175, rue Sainte-Catherine Ouest

ENTRANCE : 25$ + Fees.

A play by Ismaël Saïdi

(Belgium)

 

Humour is a weapon that Daesh lacks! Atheists as well as Muslims or Christians – all fall over in laughter as they leave the theatre, quite relieved by this balm applied to the crisis of living together. (Le Devoir)

Ben, Reda and Ismaël are three young Brussels misfits who decided to go to Syria to fight alongside other Jihadists. In eight scenes, we discover the tragi-comical adventures of these three characters, who swear only by Allah even though none of them has read the Quran. Along this journey, between laughter and tears, that will take them from Belgium to Syria by way of Istanbul, they discover the reasons and motivations that pushed them to leave, and finally find themselves facing a far less idyllic situation than what they expected.

Djihad gets you laughing at the clichés of all religions, lifting the silence on the taboos of each of them. A true catharsis, the play reveals on stage our deepest anxieties, the fear of others and what this leads to. Author and director Ismaël Saidi resolves to bring down the walls between communities and aims for greater togetherness while leading the fight against radicalization, particularly among young people.

After touring intensively for more than two years to great acclaim in Belgium and France, this play, viewed and applauded by more than 50,000 spectators, is making its first entry to Quebec. A tragicomedy of compelling current interest that fights terror with humour!

* A debate with the author and the actors will follow the performance.

In partnership with       logo_wbi_noir_haute_resolution

 

 

Ticket price : 25$ // Booking : 514 842-2112 //placedesarts.com

 

Share this :

In the same category

No more events in this category.

Djihad

Arts de la Scène

DATE : Le 02/11/2016 à 19h00 / 7:00 pm

LIEU : Cinquième Salle, Place Des Arts - 175, rue Sainte-Catherine Ouest

PRIX : 25$ + taxes et redevances.

Pièce de théâtre d’Ismaël Saïdi

(Wallonie-Bruxelles)

L’humour est une arme que Daech n’a pas !  Athées comme musulmans ou chrétiens, tous croulent de rire, sortent du théâtre un peu soulagés par ce baume appliqué sur la crise du vivre-ensemble. (Le Devoir)

Ben, Reda et Ismaël sont trois jeunes paumés Bruxellois qui décident de partir en Syrie pour combattre aux côtés des autres djihadistes. En huit tableaux, on découvre les aventures tragi-comiques de ces trois personnages qui ne jurent que par Allah même si aucun d’eux n’a lu le Coran.  Le long de ce périple, entre rires et larmes, qui les mène de Belgique en Syrie, en passant par Istanbul, ils découvrent les raisons et les motivations qui les ont poussés à partir pour se retrouver face à une situation beaucoup moins idyllique que prévue.

Djihad fait rire des clichés de toutes les religions, en levant le silence sur les tabous de chacune. Réelle catharsis, la pièce révèle sur scène nos angoisses les plus profondes, la peur de l’autre et ce qu’elle engendre. L’auteur et metteur en scène Ismaël Saïdi prend le parti de faire tomber les murs entre les communautés et aspire à un meilleur « vivre ensemble » tout en menant le combat, notamment auprès des jeunes, contre la radicalisation.

Après plus de deux ans de tournées intenses et un succès retentissant en Belgique et en France, cette pièce de théâtre vue et applaudie par plus de 50.000 spectateurs, fait sa première entrée au Québec. Une tragi-comédie d’une actualité brûlante qui combat la terreur par l’humour!

*Un débat avec l’auteur et les acteurs suivra la représentation

En partenariat avec       logo_wbi_noir_haute_resolution

 

 

Prix : 25$, Rés. : 514 842-2112 //placedesarts.com

 

PARTAGER :

Dans la même catégorie

Pas d'autres évènements à venir dans cette catégorie.