AURORES, CHANTS DE JOUR EN PLEINE NUIT

AURORES

Day songs deep in the night

Theme of the 17th edition of the FMA

What hope can be nurtured when the night seems to get darker or when the world is looking like a powder keg? What utopia can we caress when peoples and age-old cultures find themselves reduced to fashion accessories, imprisoned in words and images that concentrate fears, hatred and ignorance? What tomorrow can we desire when “good guys” and “bad guys,” “constructive chaos” and a “strategy of chaos,” executioners and victims cannot be told apart, transforming our era into a vast theatre of a harsh tragicomedy?

After brandishing delirium and hilarity in the face of the world’s absurdity in 2015, the 17th edition of the Arab World Festival of Montreal urges any form of vital resistance to “human disenchantment.” In this cathartic burst of enthusiasm that we make a point of following relentlessly, we attempt to banish spectres of resignation from the horizon. We dare to believe that, from Palmyra to North America, we can weave organic solidarity to repress one-track thinking and the reign of propaganda.

Like sailors caught in a storm, in the intense darkness of an ocean of indifference, we have no choice but to advance among the mists of despair and to raise our knees bent by tribulations to seek a clearer and fairer sky. We wish to believe that this night, reigning for far too long already, demands a sun that can wait no longer. For the voices of resistance continue to exist, pluralistic voices that succeed, despite a deafening din of confusion, in making themselves heard.

We give voice to those rebellious and courageous creators who defy reality whether through laughter and delirium or through reflection and meditation. Whether they come from a distant past or are barely emerging, their aesthetic acrobatics enable us to overcome the abyss that lies in wait and besieges us.

An initial aurora arises from a pluralistic Syria, with a wealth of diversity matched only by the immensity of its history, of this Levant where cultures, languages, peoples, songs, melodies and rhythms have blended since the mists of time. There follow the flames carried by hundreds of artists, from here and elsewhere, leading us toward the most luminous of closures, that offers a delicious musical embrace between Barbara and Fairouz, rightfully accomplished by the same voice.

“At the end of the night, seal your horses and await the spirit that will emerge from the ruins”, said Mahmoud Darwish. Let us advance the dawn, and together let us hum day songs deep in the night! Let us light our candles in the eye of the storm to warm our souls.

 

Enjoy the Festival!

AURORES, CHANTS DE JOUR EN PLEINE NUIT

AURORES

Chants de jour en pleine nuit

Thème de la 17e édition du FMA

Quel espoir nourrir quand la nuit semble s’obscurcir davantage ou quand le monde prend des allures de poudrière ? Quelle utopie caresser quand des peuples et des cultures millénaires se retrouvent réduits à des accessoires vestimentaires, emprisonnés dans des mots et des images qui concentrent peurs, haines et ignorances ? Quel lendemain vouloir quand les « bons » et les « méchants », le « chaos constructeur » et la « stratégie du chaos », les bourreaux et les victimes se confondent, transformant notre ère en un vaste théâtre d’une tragi-comédie scabreuse ?

Après avoir brandi le délire et l’hilarité face à l’absurdité du monde en 2015, la 17e édition du FMA appelle à toute forme de résistance vitale au « désenchantement de l’humain ». Dans cet élan d’enthousiasme cathartique que nous nous plaisons à suivre sans relâche, nous tentons de dégager l’horizon des spectres de la résignation. Nous osons croire que, de Palmyre jusqu’en Amérique du Nord, des solidarités organiques peuvent se tisser face à la répression de la pensée unique et au règne de la propagande.

Comme des navigateurs pris dans la tempête, en pleine noirceur d’un océan d’indifférence, nous n’avons d’autre choix que d’avancer parmi les brumes du désespoir et de relever nos genoux pliés par les épreuves pour chercher un ciel plus beau et plus juste. Nous voulons ajouter foi à l’idée que cette nuit, qui règne depuis trop longtemps déjà, appelle un soleil qui ne saurait tarder. Car les voix de résistance continuent d’exister. Des voix plurielles qui réussissent, malgré un vacarme assourdissant de confusions, à se faire entendre.

Nous rendons la voix à ces créateurs rebelles et courageux qui défient le réel tantôt par le rire et le délire, tantôt par la réflexion et la méditation. Qu’ils nous viennent d’un lointain hier ou qu’ils éclosent à peine, leurs acrobaties esthétiques nous permettent de triompher de l’abîme qui nous guette et nous assiège.

Une première aurore surgit d’une Syrie plurielle dont la richesse de sa diversité n’a d’égale que l’immensité de son histoire, de ce Levant où cultures, langues, peuples, chants, mélodies et rythmes s’entremêlent depuis la nuit des temps. Suivent les flammes portées par des centaines d’artistes, d’ici et d’ailleurs, nous conduisant vers une clôture des plus lumineuses qui offre une délicieuse étreinte musicale entre Barbara et Fairouz, accomplie à juste titre par une même et seule voix. Le prisme binaire cède la place à la complexité d’une identité moderne qui s’enrichit de sources diverses et recouvre les subtilités d’une seule et même réalité aux couleurs différentes.

« À la fin de la nuit, scellez vos chevaux et attendez l’esprit qui émergera des fissures du lieu », disait Mahmoud Darwich. Précipitons l’aurore et fredonnons ensemble des chants de jour en pleine nuit ! Allumons nos chandelles dans l’œil de la tempête pour réchauffer nos âmes…

Bon Festival!